Hawick is the largest of the Border towns with a long history stretching back to the 1100’s and today is the major centre for industry in the Borders. The largest of this is textile industry. The town is internationally famous for its fine quality knitwear and cashmere. The Borders Textile Towerhouse is contained within a restored 16th century towerhouse and is one of Hawick's main attractions. The town also has a great selection of clothing shops due to this.
The Hawick Museum and Scott Gallery give a great presentation of the towns history and also house visiting exhibitions. Also popular among walkers is Wilton Lodge Park, which boasts over 107 acres of tree lined walks on the banks of the River Teviot.
Hawick hosts the oldest of the Borders Common Riding festivals; an event that takes place early in the summer to celebrate a local youth taking the English flag from invaders at Hornshole in 1516. The horse is symbolic of this festival and there is an equestrian statue on the High Street, erected in 1914. Other events in the town include the Summer Festival and the Hawick Reivers Festival.
It is one of the farthest towns from the sea in Scotland, in the heart of Teviotdale and is at the confluence of the Slitrig Water with the River Teviot.
People from Hawick call themselves “Teries", after a traditional song which includes the line "Teribus ye teri odin". There is a distinctive Hawick accent and a large local dialect which some then refer to as ‘Teri Talk’ and is often said to have arisen due to the relative isolation of the town.