The Auld Kirk

Religious Buildings
The Auld Kirk is the start and finish point of the Town Trail. It was built by Alexander Gilkie in 1812 as Eyemouth Parish Church

About The Auld Kirk

The first minister evidently had mixed opinions of the building, as he commented, “ We cannot say much of the taste which its external appearance indicates; but we may add, that it is one of the most comfortable places of worship in this part of the country.” The consecration of the church was not without incident as a drunken smuggler John Dangerfield appeared on the scene challenging all present to a fight.

However, during the Great Tithes Dispute in the middle of the 19th century, when protests were organised against a tax levied by the kirk, few fishermen went across its step. Most married at Lamberton Toll, a few miles to the south and few bothered with a christening.

The previous Parish Church stood in Market Place and when it was demolished, skeletons were found about two feet below floor level. This is an indication that, as was common practice in earlier times, the church had been used as a place of burial.

In 1981, the Auld Kirk was converted into a museum and visitor information centre. This coincided with the centenary of the 1881 Fishing Disaster. As well as housing exhibitions about local history, the museum is also home to the Eyemouth Tapestry, a magnificent work measuring 4.5m/15ft long and incorporating nearly a million stitches, which was created by local residents in commemoration of the victims of the Disaster.

From the Auld Kirk turn left down manse road towards the harbour at the end of Manse Road is the quayside and what was formerly known as Salt Greens where herring were landed gutted and salted in barrels by fisher lassies.

More like The Auld Kirk