The Auld Kirk

Religious Buildings
It was built by Alexander Gilkie in 1812 as Eyemouth Parish Church for the Church of Scotland

About The Auld Kirk

The first minister evidently had mixed opinions of the building, as he commented. “We cannot say much of the taste which its external appearance indicates; but we may add. that it is one of the most comfortable places of worship in this part of the country”. The consecration of the church was not without incident, as a drunken smuggler John Dangerfield appeared on the scene challenging all present to a fight!

However, during the Great Tithes Dispute in the middle of the 19th century, when protests were organised against a tax levied by the Kirk, few fishermen went across its step. Most married at Lamberton Toll, a few miles to the south and few bothered with a christening.
The previous Parish Church stood in Market Place and when it was demolished, skeletons were found about two feet below floor level. This is an indication that, as was common practice in earlier times, the church had been used as a place of burial.
In 1981, the Auld Kirk was converted into a Museum and Visitor Information Centre. This coincided with the centenary of the 1881 Fishing Disaster. As well as housing exhibitions about local history, the Museum is also home to the Eyemouth Tapestry, a magnificent work measuring 4.5m/ I15ft long and incorporating nearly a million stitches, which was created by local residents in commemoration to the victims of the Disaster.

More like The Auld Kirk