Drumlanrig’s Tower

History & Heritage
A recently restored 16th-century building
share

About Drumlanrig’s Tower

The building is recorded as the “Hous and Toure of Hawick” towards the end of the 16th century and is the oldest building in the town. Originally L-shaped and probably located on the site of an earlier building, the tower dominates the crossing of the Slitrig Water. Ownership eventually passed from the Douglases to the Scotts of Buccleuch, and then in 1773 it became an inn and coaching stage. The extension of the railway to Carlisle in 1862 saw the demise of the stage-coaches, and the inn became a hotel. This closed in 1981 and the building was renovated in the mid-1990s.
Drumlanrig’s Tower is now a museum and visitor centre, with displays that explore the history of Hawick and the tower from mediaeval times to the present day. The Steve Hislop Commemorative Exhibition is a fascinating memorial to the Superbike champion who died in 2003. A plaque near the entrance door commemorates the visit of Sir Walter Scott and his guests, poet William Wordsworth and his sister Dorothy, in 1803 during their tour of Scotland.

More like Drumlanrig’s Tower