About Tweeddale Museum & Gallery
Tweeddale Museum and Gallery is housed in an historic building going back to the 16th century and is home to a lively programme of exhibitions and events all-year-round.
The Chambers Institution, as it is now known, was gifted to the town in 1859 by William Chambers – one of the founders of the famous publishing house. Scottish philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie, also made his mark on the building; significantly funding the library on the lower levels.
This striking building now hosts a vibrant museum and gallery, with permanent displays and changing exhibitions showcasing the best of the Borders, ranging from visual arts through textiles to historical interest. The Chambers Room houses the extraordinary plasterwork friezes commissioned by William Chambers, including a 16-metre reproduction of portions of the Elgin Marbles. Other pieces look at the history of Peebles and the surrounding area, which played a key role in the woollen industry of the Borders in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Due to Coronavirus, please check directly with businesses for changes to opening times. Pre-booking may be necessaryMon - 10:30-12:30 (13:00-16:00)
Tue - 10:30-12:30 (13:00-16:00)
Wed - 10:30-12:30 (13:00-16:00)
Thu - 10:30-12:30 (13:00-16:00)
Fri - 10:30-12:30 (13:00-16:00)
Sat - 09:30-12:30