Travel back in time to Romans, knights, Jacobites and reivers. Gaze at century-old abbeys standing tall in the vast landscape, uncover the mysteries of the Templars, and trace Scottish culture to the places that shaped it. It’s better felt than telt.
Halliwell’s House Museum, situated in the narrow, cobbled Halliwell's Close, part of the oldest surviving row of dwellings in Selkirk.
The monument is further along the road at grid reference: NT 27821 63905. A memorial commemorating the Battle of Roslin in 1303
Built in 1841 to commemorate Sir Walter Scott, author of the best-selling Waverley novels, who died in 1832.
The Estate around Newhailes House is set in a designed landscape full of interesting features and the woodland and estate walks with fine views.
The pack-horse bridge in Stow was constructed by public subscription around 1654-5 with a low parapet to allow burdened horses to cross in safety. Walk…
Mavisbank is a historic country house outside of the village of Loanhead.
Number 11 Church Street is also known as Chester House.
This building was designed c.1900
14th century castle. Tours. Accommodation. Weddings. Events. Filming.
Notable buildings on this street
Cousland Smiddy is a 300 year old working blacksmith shop with Heritage Hub & organic gardens
Also known as the Henry Scott Riddell cairn. The 50 foot high cairn was erected in 1874 and restored in 1999 to mark the bi-centenary…
Harden is the home of Lord Polwarth a direct descendant of one of the most famous of the Border reivers, Walter “Auld Wat” Scott of…
This parish consisted originally of three parishes; those of Clerkington, Moorfoot and Balantrodach.
Walk in the footsteps of Roman soldiers on the empire’s main road through the south of Scotland.
There has been a Lifeboat Station at Eyemouth since 1876, the first lifeboat being the rowing lifeboat "James and Rachel Grindlay"
A Chapel has been on this site since at least 1372
‘Loupin’- on stane’, used as a step-up to allow riders to mount their horses
A cross has occupied this site since 1599
Two marker stones to mark the border of Scotland and England
Former Post Office now a Living Museum Printer & Stationary Shop. Includes a display of old letterpress printers.
These single storey brick cottages were built following the completion of the Lady Victoria pit in 1896
Even though nothing remains standing above ground, what remains is still the most extensive Franciscan Friary to be seen in Scotland
Learn about the The Square and its magnificent surrounding buildings
Abbey House which dates from the late 18th century
Discover the rich history and heritage of Dalkeith. The Museum provides an open, welcoming public space where visitors can step into Dalkeith's fascinating past
The name derived from the times when travelling people camped here
A bust of Robert Burns which dates from 1912
The Three Brethren cairns mark the boundaries of the estates of Buccleuch, Yair and Selkirk Burgh at a height of 465m
Within the grounds is the family tomb of Mungo Park, the Borders-born explorer of Africa